Expo…


Wow.  Just spent the last four hours in the expo.  This is a huge area filled with tech people and vendors.  Sat through some product demos, and heard about some cool new features.  I’d sum up what I learned in a few short items.

  • I hate salesmen.  I like free stuff, but I hate badge scanning knowing it will lead to more spam email.  So I avoided most of the vendors.
  • Learned that Visio can be linked to data in excel or databases.  Could be used to make cool dashboards, or other interesting graphs and designs.  That is pretty cool.
  • Learned that Lieberman software has some cool identity management tools including some great password protection services.  They may be worth chatting with as a possible vendor for IDM replacement.
  • Our old buddies sail point were there as well. They were very excited about their new integration with epic.  They wanted to talk to me at length about it.  So, probably need to add them to the list as well.
  • Wow there is a lot of crap worthless stuff that vendors will give you to try and get your contact info.  
  • I really don’t like crowds.  Why do I keep coming to these things?
  • One place offered alcoholic lollipops.  I don’t drink, but after spending four hours talking to vendors, I was tempted….

About dannanto

I grew up in Gaithersburg, MD.
This entry was posted in Microsoft Ignite 2017 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment